To my very great surprise (and when you see the list of finalists, you'll probably share my surprise), South Pole Station was awarded the Lascaux Prize in Fiction. I am so grateful for this unexpected honor. Below is the list of finalists. Do yourself a favor and head to your local indie bookstore and buy these novels.

The Finalists:

Mohsin Hamid, Exit West
Jim Naremore, The Arts of Legerdemain as Taught by Ghosts
Cornelia Nixon, The Use of Fame
Ronan Ryan, The Fractured Life of Jimmy Dice
Lynn C. Miller, The Day After Death
Anne Da Vigo, Thread of Gold
Robley Wilson, After Paradise